The Power of your Tongue

“The tongue has the power of life and death.” Proverbs 18:21

“For by your words you will be acquitted, and by your words you will be condemned.” Matthew 12:37

I often tell my students that if they don’t have anything nice to say, then they should not say anything at all. Now that I think about it, I have met some adults who perhaps had never heard this golden rule. As a teacher candidate, I have learned that words are extremely powerful, in fact a child’s vocabulary first develops through listening. Constantly talking to a child, and reading to a child will develop his/her listening vocabulary, which in turn will help the child with speaking and reading. Since the brain is known to retain information as a sponge retains water, it is always advised that people watch what they say around a child. Not only will the child remember the words, but they might also speak it, and furthermore it might affect their self concept. If a child is able to retain so much information just from hearing, how much more do you think adults are able to retain? Unfortunately, some people do not realize the power of their words. Words are powerful. They can either make someone or break someone. I, my self, had to learn that i should be mindful of the words that come out of my mouth when speaking to others. Being that I was a brutally honest person, I thought that honesty required speaking my mind as I please. Little did I know, my honesty was doing more harm than good. Even when my intentions were good, the way that I conveyed the message made it seem otherwise. But with age comes maturity, and in my thirst for learning and growth, I also grew wiser. However, it saddens me to see that some adults have yet realized that their words should not come out of their mouth without reserve. There are certain things in life that you cannot take back, and words are one of them. Once you have said something, nothing you say can take back these words. There’s power when you speak, and you have no idea how long something you say can stay in someone’s  mind. Let not your tongue be the weapon that destroys someone’s life…Be mindful of the words that you speak.

One thought on “The Power of your Tongue

Leave a comment