Against All Odds

As some of you may have noticed I haven’t blogged in a while. I was in the middle of my 30 days photo challenge and stopped. I was a little surprised to see that some of you noticed and took the time to write me and to check up on me. I truly appreciate it. The truth of the matter is I have been going through some hard times, trying to overcome some obstacles and dealing with situations. While going through these times, I tried to take refuge in my writing like I usually do, but for once, I could not write. My thoughts were not clear and I could not find a way to write clearly and properly. Through it all I have learned a lot of lessons. Lessons that life teaches us when we least expect it and wanted to share some of my findings with you.

The first lesson that I learned was that it is in difficult times that you know who you truly consider a friend. You may be friends with several people but there comes a point in life, where you are going through something so overwhelming, and realize that you can’t even reach out to your friends. You will encounter trials in life, where you will really learn about this God that you keep hearing about. Only him will be able to lift your spirit, place the right person in your path at that particular moment, and most importantly, only God can go certain places with you.

I also learned that things are not always black or white. you will be faced with situations, where you have to take decisions that you know will regret, and will perhaps affect the rest of your life, but you also have no other choice. Life is about sacrifices, some bigger than others, but you must remember where you come from and where you are going.  In order to reach a certain goal, certain sacrifices will have to be made.

Most importantly I learned that your experiences will shape you into the person that you are. Some things cannot be undone, some words cannot be unsaid, and you definitely can’t go back in time and change your mistakes. You learn to live with the consequences, and you also learn to accept yourself with the mistakes made. You will probably be upset, have mixed feelings, question yourself, but you must forgive yourself.

We were all created for a reason and a purpose, it may not be clear to us what that purpose may be, but our creator has it all planned. Life will throw us challenges, and obstacles. There will be pain, tears, remorse, anger, guilt and shame. But the most challenging thing will be to keep moving forward in spite of it all.  There will days where you won’t want to see anyone. There will times where you may seem like a stranger to your friends and your family. There will be times where you may be a stranger to your own self, but these are the times where God will carry you through, and also the times where you have to remind your self that against all odds…Life goes on.

One thought on “Against All Odds

Leave a Reply

