Personality Disorders

Last year I remember taking a personality test which said that I had a Narcissistic Personality Disorder, having read about the signs and symptoms characterized by this disorder I concluded that I did not. Yesterday, I found my self taking another Personality disorder test, a completely different one this time, with different sets of questions, and ended up with the same result: Narcissistic Personality Disorder. I spent a couple of hours researching my disorder and simply refused to believe that I could be that type of person that was being described. Although I could honestly recognize some of the signs and symptoms, I preferred to be in denial. Making this public about my self  was definitely not an easy decision to make, but I felt that sharing this information could possibly be a step towards getting rid of this disorder.

Here is the definition of someone with a Narcissistic Personality Disorder:

Narcissistic personality disorder is a mental disorder in which people have an inflated sense of their own importance and a deep need for admiration. Those with narcissistic personality disorder believe that they’re superior to others and have little regard for other people’s feelings. But behind this mask of ultra-confidence lies a fragile self-esteem, vulnerable to the slightest criticism.

Narcissistic personality disorder is one of several types of personality disorders. Personality disorders are conditions in which people have traits that cause them to feel and behave in socially distressing ways, limiting their ability to function in relationships and in other areas of their life, such as work or school.

The Signs and Symptoms:

  • Believing that you’re better than others
  • Fantasizing about power, success and attractiveness
  • Exaggerating your achievements or talents
  • Expecting constant praise and admiration
  • Believing that you’re special and acting accordingly
  • Failing to recognize other people’s emotions and feelings
  • Expecting others to go along with your ideas and plans
  • Expressing disdain for those you feel are inferior
  • Believing that others are jealous of you
  • Trouble keeping healthy relationships
  • Setting unrealistic goals
  • Being easily hurt and rejected
  • Having a fragile self-esteem
  • Appearing as tough-minded or unemotional

My Goodness! This is describing a monster!

Although I do not have all of these symptoms, reading this made me understand a lot about some things that I personally have been struggling with. A lot of times, my friends and family try to reach out to me and try to make me understand certain things about my personality that have been causing a barrier between me and my relationship with them, I never could clearly understand why, and often have a hard time processing how they truly feel.

I have decided to go on journey and try to fix some of these things that have been detrimental to my personal life. I am going to try to overcome this disorder once and for all, step by step, little by little. I will definitely keep you updated as I overcome these symptoms one after the other.

This is the link to the website where I took this test: personality_disorder_test.mv

You may wish to take it for yourself, and decide to change some things for the better. Good luck 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “Personality Disorders

Leave a Reply

