Day 29 → Something you hope to change about yourself. And why.

“It was pride that changed angels into devils; it is humility that makes men as angels.”

I have witnessed my diabetic grandpa, having to have both of his legs amputated because of his pride. Some years ago, he lost his right leg, after not admitting his negligence. He was not following his diet and kept it all to himself even when he was ill. This month, he had to be operated on the left one, which they ended up also amputating, again because he was being stubborn,and even when he was on the verge of dying, he just would not call for help, or admit his mistakes because of his pride.

I am a very prideful person. I can be strong headed at times, but my pride is my downfall. I am aware of some circumstances where I was wrong but my pride would not let me admit it so I would rather lose what once meant a lot to me, instead of apologizing.

I have been trying to work on that, because I do not want my pride to set my boundaries. Many of us tend to listen to our pride and be boastful, instead of being humble and try to find a way to make certain things work. Pride is what keeps certain of us from having a good relationship with God, our parents, our mate, our friends, our coworkers, our entourage… For we simply do not know how to accept the fact that we sometimes make mistakes, and Pride sometimes converts this mistake into a catastrophe that cannot be reversed.

Leave a Reply

