Day 20 → Your views on drugs and alcohol.

This is yet another topic on which I don’t even bother wasting my time getting into with other people. I personally have never done drugs and do not plan on trying it either, but I do drink occasionally. I’m a wine drinker, I love wine. I drink a glass of wine before going to bed, or with a piece of cake whenever I’m in the mood for it. I don’t think that drinking alcohol is a problem AS LONG AS you don’t become dependent of it. I wish that people had to guts to face their problems and stop using alcohol as a means to forget about life’s everyday difficulties.  I can’t stand ignorance! Seriously, I’ve been there, just because you can’t think clearly for a while will not make the problems go away the next morning, so man up and deal with it.

As I said I have no idea on how drugs work but we all know the consequences of using drugs and drinking alcohol have on our health. If you feel the need to get wasted or get high for the heck of it, go ahead, feel free to ruin your life as you wish, but be conscious of the impact that it also has on the people around you. Few years ago, my brother’s best friend from College got killed in a car accident. She was hit by a drunk driver, flew out of the window and instantly died. She had graduated from college, got accepted to Dental school and was getting ready to start with Dental school.  The pain on her family’s face was indescribable. I sat there at her wake, looking at her baby sister, her mother, her father, being that she was from Korea, I could only imagine the effort that her parents invested in her, in order for her to achieve her goal of being a doctor. She died, but the drunk driver lived.

You are entitled to make your own decisions, or do as you wish with your life. But if you can’t be responsible of your own self, be sure to have the decency to respect the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

