Day 18 → Your views on gay marriage.

This 30 Days of truth is starting to ask too many questions! Let me say upfront that this is my personal opinion. This is how I feel! If I say anything that offends anyone, my sincere apology, my purpose is not not to offend or degrade anyone. But I have my beliefs, and my own opinions, with that said, this is my views on gay marriage.

“If a man lies with a male as he lies with a woman, both of them have committed an abomination.” (Leviticus 20:13).

1 Corinthians 6:9-10 – “Do you not know that the wicked will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: Neither the sexually immoral nor idolaters nor adulterers nor male prostitutes nor homosexual offenders nor thieves nor the greedy nor drunkards nor slanderers nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God.”

I Never argue or try to contradict what the Bible says. Of course I won’t be hypocritical and act as if I’m no sinner my self, but to me homosexuality is plain wrong. I don’t get the concept of a man wanting to be with another man, who acts just as a woman (vice versa), why not just be with a woman? I have heard it all, it’d biological, others say that they can’t help it, others say that it’s a choice, but it really doesn’t make a difference to me.

Homosexuality was a cultural shock to me. I had never seen two people of the same gender being in a relationship until I move to the States. I could not even tell the difference between a lesbian and a straight girl. I honestly thought that it was the person’s clothing style, or something….until this lesbian approached me my senior year of high school, trying to hit on me! I became homophobic after that incident (right I said incident because I did nothing that could make this girl think that I was interested in females) , but I tried to be a little more open minded because I hate judging people. I wrote a research paper on homosexuality, took a human sexuality course, and even did a  field experiment on being homophobic, where I went to a gay bar, and tried having conversations with gay people, and I still could not find it in me, the reasons why people chose to be homosexuals.

However, I have not let my views of homosexuality from getting to know people who happened to be gay. I do know a couple of gay people who I tried looking past their sexual orientation, in order to have a relationship with them. I do not have any close friends of mine who are homosexuals ( not to my knowledge) but I will not cut all times with someone who I share a friendship with because of their orientation AS LONG AS  we can be respectful of each other’s relationships.

Society is become so polluted that we try to legalize things that were never accepted or legal.  Just last week in class I heard that some states are thinking about legalizing the use of marijuana. I am no one to judge any human being, for any given reason. Your sexual orientation is your personal life. But when it comes to marriages,  I think it ought to stay the same as God created it, a human blessed by God between a man and a woman.

“Therefore shall a man leave his father and his mother, and shall cleave unto his wife: and they shall be one flesh.” Genesis 2:24

Leave a Reply

