Day 13 → A band or artist that has gotten you through some tough ass days. (write a letter.)

I’ve lost some joy, I’ve lost some time
Now it feels like I will lose my mind
Journeyed long and lost my way
And now it feels like I’ve lost is all I say

Searching here and over there for what ‘ve lost
Where is it, I don’t know
I will find a way

I will find a way to lift up my hands (lift up my hands)
And I will find a way to worship You Lord (find a way, I will find a way)
And though my heart is low, I’ll find a way to give You praise
I’ll find a way to love You more

Dear Fred Hammond,

Your song, I will Find a Way has brought through some of the most difficult times of my life. Few years ago, I was at a point of my life that could have been my breaking point. At 18 years old, It’s hard not to drift away and give in when it seems like nothing is working. I knew that I had find a way to get my self out of this hole that I was in. I made the best decision and moved to another State for college, to a Christian school. I wanted to be away from my family, my mate at the time, away from the world.  I buried my self in my school work, slept, ate, and studied until the lights at the library went off. I was existing, but far from living. Didn’t bother talking to anyone, because no one knew and no one would understand. I stumbled upon this song on a cd and it became my motivation. I would listen to this song all day long, then fall asleep listening to it. Little by little, this song taught me things about my self, and helped me find this strength that I didn’t know existed in me.

I’ve lost so much down through the years
It seems that all I find here lately is a face so full of tears
I search each dark and empty place
The peace I used to know, somehow I have misplaced

Searching here and over there for the things lost
I don’t have them anymore

Again, this year, after the earthquake destroyed Haiti, and took so many people and so many things that were so dear to me, I found my self on the verge of a break down, and while I was at my father’s bedside at the hospital, I had this song on repeat, on my ipod, all day long, until I was reminded that I must a way to move forward, and make it to the next day.

One thing I’ve not lost is will to move ahead
And I’ve kept a faith that trust in You Lord
And I find way down within myself, a love for You Lord that overflows
But I know that I can love You more with every loss and though it all

I will find a way to lift up my hands (lift up my hands)
And I will find a way to worship You Lord (find a way, I will find a way)
And though my life is broken, I’ll find a way to give You praise
I’ll find a way to love You more

I don’t know what inspired you to write this song, and I don’t know the effect that it had on other people, but this song kept me strong, and sane. It kept me from losing my way and drifting away from God. A constant reminder that through the tears, with every loss, and through it all, I will always find a way to lift up my hands, give God the praise that he deserves, and fall deeper in love with him.

Title of the song is I will find a way, by Fred Hammond.

One thought on “Day 13 → A band or artist that has gotten you through some tough ass days. (write a letter.)

  1. I think Day 13 is the best so far. It was very deep and I found myself relating to it… Fred Hammond is a great writer and only God knows why he wrote that song.

Leave a comment